Influential new Board members at the University of Vaasa

Uutisen oletuskuva
On 29 August 2017, The University Collegium of the University of Vaasa confirmed the external members elected to the University's new board for the term from 1 January 2018 to 31 December 2021.

Johnny Åkerholm, an expert in economic policy, and Anne Korkiakoski, a board professional, will continue on the Board. Eero Kasanen, emeritus professor and former rector of the Helsinki School of Economics, Juha Kytölä, Vice President at Wärtsilä, and Kaisa-Leena Lintilä, Director for Regional Development at the Ministry of Economic Affairs and Employment of Finland, were elected as well (Ms. Lintilä for a two-year term from 2018 to 2019).

Key elements of the University's strategy for the period to 2020 include strengthening the focus areas and boosting the societal, national and international influence of education and research.

"We assembled the Board with a view to achieving the best possible entity in light of the University's strategic objectives," says Professor Pirjo Laaksonen, Chair of the University Collegium.

"The members have a strong background in board work, as well as insight and experience in the academic world and our disciplines. Their work is supported by their extensive networks in the public and private sectors," Laaksonen continues.

"The Board members complement each other in their expertise and will contribute to reforming our University in a wide range of ways," says Jari Kuusisto, the University's Rector.

The Board of the University of Vaasa has nine members, five of whom come from outside the university community. In November, the personnel will elect three members from within the University, and the student union's board of representatives will elect one student member.

FURTHER INFORMATION: Chairman of the University Collegium, Professor Pirjo Laaksonen, tel. +358 29 449 8460, pirjo.laaksonen(at)

The external members of the University of Vaasa's Board are presented below.

Johnny Åkerholm
Johnny Åkerholm served as Chair of the Board of the University of Vaasa from 2014 to 2017. After a long career in economic policy and finance, Åkerholm has retired as the President and CEO of Nordic Investment Bank. He has also served as an economic policy expert in the Economic Council at the Prime Minister’s Office. He holds a Licentiate in Political Science and is a Master of Science in Economics. His previous work includes positions at the Bank of Finland, Secretary General of the European Bank for Reconstruction and Development in London, Under Secretary of State in the Ministry of Finance and President of the European Union’s Economic and Financial Committee. He was born in 1948.

Juha Kytölä
Juha Kytölä is Vice President of Environmental Solutions in the Marine division at Wärtsilä Corporation. He has enjoyed a long and varied career in the domains of product development, manufacturing, international trade and management. Kytölä has served as a member and as chair of the Boards of Directors of Vacon Plc, the Ostrobothnia Chamber of Commerce, Merinova Oy and several of Wärtsilä's subsidiaries. He has completed the Chamber of Commerce's training in acting as a board member and in chairing a board. He graduated from the Tampere University of Technology with a Master of Science degree in Technology. He was born in 1964.

Eero Kasanen
Eero Kasanen is emeritus professor of finance at Aalto University and a former rector of the Helsinki School of Economics. Kasanen holds a doctorate in economics from Harvard University, and he served as Rector of the Helsinki School of Economics from 1996 to 2009, before becoming Dean of the Aalto University School of Economics in 2010. Since 2011, he has been a professor of finance. He has extensive experience in working on boards and in positions of trust in Finland and internationally, including at Itella Oyj, Kesko Corporation and the European Foundation for Management Development (EFMD), which evaluates education in economics. He was born in 1952.

Kaisa-Leena Lintilä
Kaisa-Leena Lintilä works as Director for Regional Development at the Ministry of Economic Affairs and Employment of Finland. She has wide-ranging experience in programme-based regional development and partnerships between public administration, universities and business. She has previously served in positions including Finland's representation to the EU in Brussels and at the Ministry of the Interior. She was born in 1955.

Anne Korkiakoski
Anne Korkiakoski served as a member of the Board of the University of Vaasa from 2014 to 2017. She holds a Master of Science degree in Economics from the University of Vaasa. Selected as the Marketing Manager of the Year in 2012, Korkiakoski has worked as Executive Vice President of Global Marketing and Communications at Kone Corporation and Elisa Corporation and as the Managing Director of Euro RSCG Nordic. She was born in 1964.

Did you like the article?