Nationwide selection of doctoral courses expands – already 11 universities involved

The University of Vaasa, Hanken School of Economics and the University of Turku to join the Finnish universities’ partner network offering doctoral courses.

Finnish universities are intensifying their collaboration in doctoral education. A nationwide selection of doctoral courses (DoC) was launched in February 2023, with Hanken School of Economics, the University of Turku and the University of Vaasa now joining the network of partner universities, which already includes Aalto University, the University of Eastern Finland, the University of Jyväskylä, the University of Lapland, LUT University, the University of Oulu, Tampere University and Åbo Akademi University.

The expansion of the network offering doctoral courses further diversifies and increases the number of courses available to all doctoral researchers who have a doctoral study right in one of the partner universities. Now, doctoral researchers from an increasing number of universities can take jointly offered courses.

The nationwide selection of doctoral courses includes discipline-specific courses as well as courses related to research methodology. Courses are offered in Finnish, Swedish and English. Most courses can be attended remotely or online. Find the selection of doctoral courses and course contents at:

The partner network, and the agreement on educational cooperation between them, are coordinated by the University of Eastern Finland.

“We are delighted about the expansion of the network and about the increasing number of courses available to doctoral researchers. This is a wonderful example of smooth nationwide collaboration in doctoral education,” says Head of Academic Affairs Kaisa Laitinen of the University of Eastern Finland.

Did you like the article?